Peanut Butter Beans

So, I wilfully attribute this little discovery of mine to the fact that I absolutely love peanut butter. As a disclaimer, understand that this may be the only substantive reasoning as for why I thought this combo was so delicious.

image

All I did was mindlessly add too much salt and oregano to a can of beans I was warming on the stove. After tasting my poorly seasoned beans, I tried imagining what might cut the overpowering salty flavor. I opened the fridge. Oh, peanut butter. It seemed so natural. I added about a tablespoon and then immeiately regretted it. I probably just ruined all those beans, I thought. Darn.

I was already planning on throwing an egg onto my beans, so I just proceeded with my now haphazard plan.

I finished my egg juicy, laid it atop my peanut butter beans, bravely scooped up a spoonful full of juicy egg and steaming beans. I tasted it, bracing myself for a sickening combo of salt, oregano, and peanut butter. Nope, just delcious.

I had to have a dozen more bites before I was convinced. And then I went to get more peanut butter- success!

(Coincidentally, I was drinking a chai tea with it which complimented it better than it should have.)

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Beans

  1. Oh my gosh. Hahahaa. I think I want to try that. maybe. weird. so funny! At least you still got a good dinner. Lots and lots of protien too!

  2. Stephanie says:

    You are right. The combination is bizarre, but then this is what “fusion” is made of, so what do I know? And hey- talk about protein!

  3. rita says:

    Peanutbutter and beans with eggs?! Who would have thought. I admire your culinary bravery! You’re like Braveheart in the kitchen:) YOu

  4. rita says:

    You might want to pass this idea on to Jose Andres.

Leave a Reply

