Today in the City

image

image

image

Begin, phase two, of Adam’s glamorous summer.
My first days here have been good (even the queer community celebrated my arrival by throwing a parade. Thanks, guys, but I just wanted to get groceries on the other side of the street, and hey, nice jock-straps.)
Dancing at the Graham school started and at first it was just something to remind me how horribly out of shape I was. Honestly, the first two days were me looking at myself in the mirror and then getting upset at what I saw, all the while wincing in pain.
Today, however, was a great day, all together.
I was unthinkably sore, but after a half-hour of warming up, I was ready to move. Finally I could feel my back working and I could understand what was happening in the technique. Another perk to the whole experience was that we moved our class into a big high school theater. So there are no mirrors, and lots of space. There is also something very exciting about starting a class combination in the wings of a stage: it allows for your imagination to place yourself in a performance.
So class was great. After class, I went shoe shopping with Eleanor. Ya know, I needed my wourkingggg sshooues! (-to be read with a Forrest Gump accent).
I was hired at Pier 9, a hip seafood restaurant, after a brief interview and a really strong recommendation from Eleanor who works as a hostess there. Yesterday was my first day, and it was really just a trial of my abilities- I would like to say that I passed in flying colors! But that’s way to dramatic, the job is not hard, I just had to watch everybody’s water like a hawk and swoop in to fill it whenever it wasn’t full.
And so this is what I do now, take Graham classes, get lost on subways, bus tables, and crash every night on an inflatable mattress in the basement of an NYC apartment.

2 thoughts on “Today in the City

  1. Stephanie says:

    Now THAT sounds like an authentic NYC experience, all the way down to the inflatable mattress. SO excited for you!

  2. rita says:

    New York, New Yoooooork!!!! (Sing it!)
    Tell me more, tell me more!

Leave a Reply

